Historic towns and villages


Although much of Wales is predominantly rural, the country also contains several large towns as well as the major cities of Cardiff – the capital – and Swansea.On this page we have provided links not only to our great cities but also to the villages and towns of Wales. Many of these places date back to the Middle Ages or beyond. Some still survive today as working market towns; others have harbours which are used equally by local fishing boats and by visiting members of the yachting fraternity; others again are shopping or tourist centres, or University towns; while a few have sunk into quiet obscurity, with only the presence of occasional grand buildings from the past to hint at their vanished glory.

The links are listed in alphabetical order of counties; these are the ‘new’ counties which came into existence in 1994, and which in many cases reflect the traditional county structure of Wales dating back to the mediaeval period.


Bullet Blaenau Gwent Bullet Bridgend
Bullet Caerphilly / Caerffili Bullet Cardiff
Bullet Carmarthenshire Bullet Ceredigion
Bullet Conwy Bullet Denbighshire
Bullet Flintshire Bullet Gwynedd
Bullet Merthyr Tydfil Bullet Monmouthshire
Bullet Neath Port Talbot Bullet Newport
Bullet Pembrokeshire Bullet Powys
Bullet Rhondda Cynon Taff Bullet Swansea
Bullet Torfaen Bullet Vale of Glamorgan
Bullet Wrexham Bullet Ynys Môn


Blaenau Gwent

Bullet Bryn Mawr


Bullet County borough council

Caerphilly / Caerffili

Bullet Caerphilly / Caerffili
Bullet Cross Keys


Bullet Cardiff


Bullet Brechfa
Bullet Carmarthen
Bullet Kidwelly
Bullet Llandovery



Bullet Aberaeron
Bullet Aberarth
Bullet Aberystwyth
Bullet Borth
Bullet Cardigan
Bullet Ffarmers
Bullet Lampeter
Bullet Llandudoch / St Dogmaels
Bullet Llandysul & Pont Tyweli
Bullet Llangrannog
Bullet Llanrhystud
Bullet Newcastle Emlyn
Bullet New Quay
Bullet Penbryn
Bullet Teifi Valley towns
Bullet Tregaron


Bullet Conwy
Bullet Llandudno


Bullet Llangollen


Bullet Flintshire County Council


Bullet Beddgelert
Bullet Blaenau Ffestiniog
Bullet Penllyn
Bullet Portmeirion
Bullet Rhiw

Merthyr Tydfil

Bullet Merthyr Tydfil


Bullet Chepstow

Neath Port Talbot

Bullet Margam
Bullet Neath Port Talbot Council
Bullet Ystalyfera


Bullet Caerleon
Bullet Newport


Bullet Narberth
Bullet Pembroke
Bullet Pembroke Town and Pembroke Dock
Bullet Penally
Bullet Ramsey Island
Bullet St. Davids
Bullet St. Florence
Bullet Tegryn
Bullet Tenby


Bullet Crickhowell
Bullet Hay-on-Wye
Bullet Machynlleth
Bullet Welshpool

Rhondda Cynon Taff

Bullet Rhondda Valley


Bullet Swansea
Bullet Penllergaer
Bullet Gower


Bullet Torfaen County Borough

Vale of Glamorgan

Bullet Cowbridge
Bullet Llantwit Major (Llanilltud Fawr)


Bullet Llay
Bullet Wrexham
Bullet Mold

Ynys Môn

Bullet Beaumaris
Bullet Holyhead
Bullet Llanfairpwll